Indonesia is a huge archipelagic country extending 5,120 kilometers from east to west and 1,760 kilometers from north to south. It encompasses 13,667 islands (some sources say as many as 18,000), only 6,000 of which are inhabited. There are five main islands (Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, and Irian Jaya), two major archipelagos (Nusa Tenggara and the Maluku Islands), and sixty smaller archipelagos.


Tropical climates and temperatures varying from area to area. The driest weather is between June and September, brought by the eastern monsoon. The western monsoon brings the main rains from December to March. Rainstorms occur throughout the year and the higher regions are cooler.


Bahasa is the official national language. It is very similar to Malay and written in the Roman alphabet. In total, there are an estimated 583 languages and dialects spoken in the archipelago. English is the most widely used foreign language for tourism and business, and people in the more remote areas have a basic command of English.


Visas are required by all except the following for tourist stays of up to 30 days (non-extendable): (a) Brunei, Chile, Hong Kong (SAR), Macau (SAR), Malaysia, Morocco, Peru, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam nationals.


Rupiah (Rp) = 100 sen. Notes are in denominations of Rp 100, 500, 1000, 5000, 10,000, 20,000, 50,000 and 100,000. Coins are in denominations of Rp 1000, 500, 100, 50 and 25.


Jakarta is the only major city.


Between Rp 8 and Rp 20,000 depending on airport of departure; infants under the age of 2 are exempt.


Monday-Friday 08:00-16:00 or 09:00-17:00.


Usually 220 volts AC, 50Hz, but 110 volts AC, 50Hz, in some rural areas.


  • Bali
  • East Indonesia
  • Jakarta
  • Java
  • Lombok
  • Sulawesi
  • Sumartra

Indonesia Tour Packages