Brunei is a small coastal state just 443km (277 miles) north of the equator in the northwest corner of Borneo. It has a land border with the Malaysian state of Sarawak and a coastline along the shore of the South China
Sea, encompassing a total area of 5,765 square kilometers. It is divided into four districts : Brunei-muara, Tutong,
Belait and Temburong. The capital, Bandar Seri Begawan, is in the Brunei-Muara district and this is the main centre of
population and administration. Some 70% of the land is covered by tropical rain forest . Brunei is a Malay Islamic
Monarchy with a 600 year recorded history, which has given rise to well-established traditions and a unique cultural


Very hot, humid tropical climate most of the year. Heavy rainfall in the monsoon season, November to December. Average temperature is 28°C (82ºF).


Malay is the official language. English is widely used and Chinese dialects are also spoken.


Required by all nationals referred to in the chart above except the following:  Canada, Japan, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, The Republic of Maldives, Norway, Indonesia, Thailand, The Philippines, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia, Peru, Republic Of China, Ukraine, Qatar – 14 days Malaysia, The Netherlands, South Korea, Singapore, Germany, New Zealand, Denmark,
Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Finland, Germany, Sweden, Italy, France, Spain, Slovenia, Greece, Cyprus, Malta, Czech Republic, Portugal, Hungary, Estonia, Slovakia, Lithuania, Poland, Latvia and United Kingdom, Republic of Iran, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Australia, Bahrain, Kuwait – 30 days United States – 90 days


Brunei Dollar (Br$) = 100 cents. Notes are in the denominations Br$10,000, 1000, 500, 100, 50, 25, 10, 5 and 1. Coins are in the denominations 50, 20, 10, 5 and 1 cents. The Brunei Dollar is officially on a par with the Singapore Dollar.


Capital is Bandar Seri Begawan. Population: 27,285 (2001).


A Passe


Government offices are open from 7.45 am to 12.15 pm and from 1.30 pm to 4.30 pm in the afternoon and are closed on
Fridays and Sundays. Private of offices generally work from 8.00 am to 5.00 pm on weekdays and from 8.00 am to 12.00
noon on Saturdays. Most shopping centre are open daily from 10.00 am to 10.00 pm. Shortened office hours operate during
the fasting month.


220/240 volts AC 50Hz. Plugs are either round or square three-pin.

Tourist Attractions

. Bandar Seri Begawan . Temburong District . Belait District. Tutong District . Brunei Muara . Sarawak

Brunei Darussalam Tour Packages

Coming Soon . . .

No posts found.